92nd Academy Award Winners

Photo Credit: (Creative Commons.com)

Photo Credit: (Creative Commons.com)

Gavin Clingham, Staff Writer

Sunday was the 92nd Academy Awards. History was made, Eminem dropped in, acceptance speeches became political, and the show tried to compensate for no host. There were many performances by artists such as Elton John and Cynthia Erivo. The show ran rather smoothly despite being classified as the most boring awards show by people living in this generation. Here are the winners of the coveted trophy.


Best Picture 

1917 (Universal)

The Irishman (Netflix)

Jojo Rabbit (Fox Searchlight)

Joker (Warner Brothers)

Little Women (Sony)

Marriage Story (Netflix)

Once Upon a Time…in Hollywood (Sony)

Parasite (Neon) – WINNER

Ford v. Ferrari (20th Century Fox)


Best Director

Bong Joon-Ho (Parasite) – WINNER

Sam Mendes (1917)

Todd Philips (Joker)

Martin Scorsese (The Irishman)

Quentin Tarantino (Once Upon a Time…in Hollywood)


Best Actress

Cynthia Ervo (Harriet)

Renée Zellweger (Judy) – WINNER

Scarlett Johansson (Marriage Story)

Charlize Theron (Bombshell)

Saoirse Ronan (Little Women)


Best Actor

Joaquin Phoenix (Joker) – WINNER

Leonardo DiCaprio (Once Upon a Time…in Hollywood)

Antonio Banderas (Pain and Glory)

Adam Driver (Marriage Story)

Johnathan Pyrce (The Two Popes)


Best Supporting Actress

Laura Dern (Marriage Story) – WINNER

Florence Pugh (Little Women)

Margot Robbie (Bombshell)

Kathy Bates (Richard Jewell)

Scarlett Johansson (Jojo Rabbit)


Best Supporting Actor

Brad Pitt (Once Upon a Time…in Hollywood) – WINNER

Al Pacino (The Irishman)

Joe Pesci (The Irishman)

Anthony Hopkins (The Two Popes)

Tom Hanks (A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood)


Best Original Screenplay

Knives Out (Rian Johnson)

Marriage Story (Noah Baumbach)

1917 (Sam Mendes and Krysty Wilson-Cairns)

Once Upon a Time…in Hollywood (Quentin Tarantino)

Parasite (Bong Joon-Ho and Jin Won Han) – WINNER


Best Adapted Screenplay

The Irishman (Steve Zaillian)

Jojo Rabbit (Taika Watiti) – WINNER

Joker (Todd Philips and Scott Silver)

Little Women (Greta Gerwig)

The Two Popes (Anthony McCarten)


Best Cinematography

The Irishman (Rodrigo Prieto)

Joker (Lawrence Sher)

The Lighthouse (Jarin Blaschke)

1917 (Roger Deakins) – WINNER

Once Upon a TIme…in Hollywood (Richard Richardson)


Best Editing

Ford v. Ferrari (Michael McCusker and Andrew Buckland) – WINNER

The Irishman (Thelma Schoonmaker)

Jojo Rabbit (Tom Eagles)

Joker (Jeff Groth)

Parasite (Jinmo Yang)


Best Sound Editing

Ford v. Ferrari (Don Sylvester) – WINNER

Joker (Alan Robert Murray)

1917 (Oliver Tarney and Richard Tate)

Once Upon a Time…in Hollywood (Wylie Stateman)

Star Wars: Rise of Skywalker (Matthew Wood and David Acord)


Best Production Design

The Irishman (Bob Shaw and Regina Graves)

Jojo Rabbit (Ra Vincet and Nora Spokova)

1917 (Dennis Gassner and Lee Sandales)

Once Upon a Time…in Hollywood (Barbra Ling and Nancy Haigh) – WINNER

Parasite (Lee Ha-Jun, Cho Won Woo, Han Ga Ram, and Cho Hee)


Best Original Score

Joker (Hildur Guðnadóttir) – WINNER

Little Women (Alexandre Desplat)

Marriage Story (Randy Newman)

1917 (Thomas Newman)

Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker (John Williams)


Best Visual Effects

Avengers: Endgame

The Irishman

1917 – WINNER

The Lion King

Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker


Best Costume Design

The Irishman (Sandy Powell and Christopher Peterson)

Jojo Rabbit (Mayes C. Rubeo)

Joker (Mark Bridges)

Little Women (Jacqueline Durran) – WINNER

Once Upon a Time…in Hollywood (Arianne Phillips)


Best Makeup and Hairstyling

Bombshell -WINNER



Maleficent: Mistress of Evil



Best Foreign Language Film

Corpus Christi


Les Miserables

Pain and Glory

Parasite – WINNER


Best Original Song

I Can’t Let You Throw Yourself Away” (Toy Story 4)

“(I’m Gonna) Love Me Again” (Rocketman) – WINNER

I’m Standing with You” (Breakthrough)

Into the Unknown” (Frozen 2)

Stand Up” (Harriet)


Best Sound Mixing

Ad Astra

Ford v. Ferrari


1917 – WINNER

Once Upon a Time…in Hollywood


Best Documentary

American Factory – WINNER

The Cave

The Edge of Democracy

For Sama



Best Documentary Short

In The Absence

Learning to Skateboard in a Warzone (If You’re a Girl) – WINNER

Life Overtakes Me

St. Louis Superman

Walk Run Cha-Cha


Best Animated Short Film


Hair Love – WINNER




History was made as Parasite became the first foreign language film to win Best Picture. And it finally got the recognition it deserved as it won several awards that night. 1917 was favored to win but it only recieved Best Cinematography (which it definitely deserved to get and I’d be mad if it didn’t) and Best Visual Effects. The winners of every acting award were expected but they gave wonderful speeches. It seemed like every single film won some kind of award except The Irishman. Whether it was the sheer rage over Martin Scorcese’s comments about Marvel movies or the complaints about the movie’s runtime, the film took home absolutely no awards. However, Martin Scorcesse got a very meaningful shout-out from Bong Joon-Ho as did the rest of the legendary directors that night.